International Dance News

Australasian International Ballet Competition 2010

The Ballet Teachers Workshop of Victoria Inc. (BTW) has announced that they will be hosting the Australasian International Ballet Competition (AIBC) in 2010, alongside their normal ballet scholarships.

The BTW was originally founded in 1964 by Paul Hammond OBE, Frances Naylor and Mabel Pryde and during the 46 year period has paid out over $100,000 in scholarship prize money.

This year’s inaugural international competition is to be held on Sunday 29th August 2010 and has prize money and vouchers totaling approx $11,500 AUD. 1st prize will be $7,000, a gold medal and a voucher for $500 and 2nd prize will be $2000, a silver medal and a voucher for $250. There are two 3rd prizes of $750, a bronze medal and vouchers worth $125 for one male and one female dancer.

Australian Ballet Principal dancer Adam Bull, who is the highest winning BTW scholarship holder in history with seven wins from seven years, will be adjudicating this year’s event, alongside Australian Ballet Senior Artist Amber Scott. Joining Adam and Amber for the Final will be the Artistic Director of the Australian Ballet Company, David McAllister.

The dancers will present a 19th Century classical variation from a list compiled by the BTW in round one, complete a masterclass elimination in round two, and a repeat of the classical variation and a contemporary solo/variation in round three – the final.

Ballet dancerEntries are expected from as far afield as China, Japan, Korea, Germany, USA, Great Britain, Brazil and New Zealand.

The competition, aimed at showcasing Australia’s best dancers against the rest of the world, is being sponsored by Energetiks and Dance Informa with more sponsors to be announced soon. BTW hopes to also announce that the medalists will be invited to take classes for one week with some of Australia’s leading ballet and contemporary companies.

For the first time in 2010, the BTW is also opening all the remaining scholarship sections to all the Australian states. The seven other sections ranging from 6 years to 16 years have a large prize money pool. The Mabel Pryde Memorial Scholarship for Girls 16 years and over and the Paul Hammond Award for boys 16 years and over both have prize money totaling $2,250.

In total, $19,670:00 in prize money will be paid out in the 2010 Scholarships.

For any information regarding the 2010 Australasian International Ballet Competition or the Scholarship sections please email

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top